Podcast Review Show – Get Your Podcast Reviewed

David Jackson & Erik K. Johnson

Podcast consultants Dave Jackson and Content Coach Erik K Johnson listen to your content and tell you what you're doing right, and what you might want to tweak. Its like sitting in on a podcast consulting call. Discover new podcasts and you learn podcasting tips.

The Skeptic Metaphysicians
May 20 2022
The Skeptic Metaphysicians
Today we are looking at the Skeptic Metaphysicians. Their description is, "Like Mulder from the X-Files, we want to believe. So we've embarked on a journey of discovery. We've talked to people deeply entrenched in the spiritual, metaphysical, mental health and self-help worlds. We've thrown ourselves into weird and wonderful experiences, and we're sharing them with you in an effort to find the trick to self-growth. Whether your interests lie in the metaphysical or the spiritual or even grounded in the three-dimensional world, this show will help you explore the endless possibilities of self-growth....tinged with a hint of the supernatural. New episodes every Wednesday!Check out their website at www.skepticmetaphysician.comWhat We Liked About the ShowSome really good questions were askedYou did a GREAT job of being skeptical without being cynical (a very safe space)You didn't interrupt the guest when they were in the thick of a storyWe loved your description of the showYou did a great job of stepping into the shoes of your guest.You take the show seriously but still kept it light.The website looks great using PodpageYour "final" answer showed vulnerability and was amazing.Great job explaining the roles (scientist) of the people involved.The podcast sounds great.What We Thought Needed TweakedWe loved your description, but it took a little long to get to that descriptionWho is Karen? (neither the episode or the website answered this question).You (in some cases) ask a question and add a description/backstory. Flip the content around and set up the question and ask the question last (so the guest hears the question last).Don't forget to use people's names when you have multiple hosts.Get comfortable with awkward pausesUse one call to action (and rotate if needed). FYI, ratings and reviews do not help you be found in Apple (social proof only)Do not refer to the listener as "listeners."Get ReviewedGo to www.podcastreviewshow.com/reviewmeMentioned On This EpisodeSchool of PodcastingPodcast Talent Coachtrypodpage.comlearnpodpage.com
8th Layer Insights Review
Mar 30 2022
8th Layer Insights Review
Today we are joined by Perry Carpenter from the 8th Layer Insights podcast.Description: Get ready for a deep dive into what cybersecurity professionals often refer to as the "8th Layer" of security: HUMANS. Welcome to 8th Layer Insights (8Li). This podcast is a multidisciplinary exploration into how the complexities of human nature affect security and risk. Author, security researcher, and behavior science enthusiast Perry Carpenter taps experts for their insights and illumination. Topics include cybersecurity, psychology, behavior science, communication, leadership, and moreWebsite: You're Doing CorrectThe audio production is amazing.The sidekick of "Carl" was creativeAsked some really good questions and stayed out of the guest's way.As the episode isn't super long, the summaries at the end of a point signaled you were moving on to a new point.Loved the insights and vulnerabilityThe website is clean and very usefulVery well put togetherThings That Might Need Some BufferingThe show needs an intro to explain "Here is what we do here." You explain it later in the show. I would move it to the beginning of the show. The description really suggests a name change. Start with the end in mind, and look at who hires you to speak? If you're trying to spotlight soft skills, then tie them back to cyber security.The name is somewhat inside baseball. Maybe add a tagline to make it easier to get foundI would’ve added a link to the sponsor and the steve king book in your show notes. I totally missed it in the sidebar.You have a lot of voices and from time to time we're not sure who said what.They all sounded different but we forget who is who.Get ReviewedHave your Show Reviewed by going to podcastreviewshow.com/reviewmeFind Dave at schoolofpodcasting.com and Erik at podcasttalentcoach.com
Dream Believe Never Give Up - Reviewed
Jan 16 2022
Dream Believe Never Give Up - Reviewed
Today we are looking at the Dream Believe with George DeMartino Podcast. The description of the show is:98% of people live their lives and don't achieve their dreams or goals. They’re not really living - just following a routine. I’m George DeMartino and I hope to inspire you to take the path less beaten through my stories and the stories of others that are just as unorthodox. So step into the arena. Subscribe and listen now to the Dream Believe podcast We hope we can inspire you to take your first stepGeorge's website is We Liked About the PodcastGeorge has tremendous energy and tons of experiences and stories. He has an enthusiasm to help cheer you on to greater things.Very conversational filled with great stories.George has that New York flavor, and his personality shines through.You have an obvious passion for your subject.He had some great questions and you built a nice story arch.You had a great question at the end that brought everything full circleThe website loaded fastWhat He Might Want to PolishHis intro was missing a bit of setup to let us know where we are going.His first questions need a little pacing (one question at a timeBe aware of the curse of knowledge. You may know things about the guest that the audience doesn't. You need to make sure to bring the audience up to speed. What is Hydroflax?Your editor could remove some of the stammers, which results in you and your guest sounding more confident in what you're saying. There is also a slight buzz in your audio at times.Work on your call to action at the end of the show. If you want to monetize, you should start working on an email list with tools like Mailerlite, or ConvertkitThe website had lots of different topics from different parts of your life. It was confusing.Give each episode its own blog post with show notes and a player to attract Google. Clean navigation at the top of the page would help your website.Maybe use the blurb on your website as the intro to the show. At the end of the interview put your stamp on it and summarize and inject yourself into the show.Check out George's show at Your Show ReviewedGet some constructive feedback from TWO podcast consultants as we help you identify your goals, and then evaluate your show, your website and make sure you are headed in the right direction to achieve those goals.Go to podcastreviewshow.com/reviewme
The Colon Health Podcast
Aug 17 2021
The Colon Health Podcast
Today Dave and Erik review The Colon Health Podcast. Their description in Apple is, "Interviews with the world's leading professionals and experts in gastroenterology, research, nutritional science, medical technology, and more. If it impacts your colon health, we cover it here on the Colon Health Podcast. Hosted by Dr. Dac Teoli." Their website is  We Liked About The Show The intro is solid and gives you what you need. The phrase, "We have three big problems" really caught my attention (it's a great setup). I learned some stuff I could use at a dinner party. The host has great pipes. I love the “to be fair” and showing of both sides of the data. Really positioned the other Dr. Dale as the Expert. The website made it easy to find the podcast. Some Things You Might Try Moving Forward Add more about the benefit to the listener. You give lots of stats/data early in the episode. Numbers are hard to follow in audio. You can put the stats in the show description and direct people to the website. Erik thought you could sound friendlier, and Dave thought spelling the website and name was a little odd. You introduce the guest, and then we don't hear from him for a LONG TIME. Then you just dump the show into his lap, and he talks for a LONG TIME. It had the feel like you were doing a presentation instead of a conversation. At the end of the show, give the listener a benefit to take action. If possible (realizing Doctors may not be that tech savvy) get them off the phone. It was good that you sounded good and were on a microphone You have some "group Speak." Phrases such as, "Our listeners out there”, etc. “To you, our listener.” Who else would it be? A fair amount of calls to action at the end, and be sure to explain the benefits of those calls to action
The Pharmacist's Voice
Jun 30 2021
The Pharmacist's Voice
Today Dave Jackson from the School of Podcasting and Erik K. Johnson from Podcast Talent Coach take a look at the Pharmacist's Voice hosted by Kim Newlove. Here is the description of the podcast: The Pharmacist’s Voice The Pharmacist's Voice Podcast is a weekly, journey-style podcast about Ohio pharmacist Kim Newlove's career change from pharmacist to voice actor. She alternates solo shows and interview shows. The solo shows are about her career change, and the interview shows feature a variety of people who use their voices to advocate, educate, or entertain. What We Liked About the Show Kim does a good job explaining why the guest is on a show and has a clear idea of who should (and shouldn't be on her show). Kim does a good job of bringing the guest back on topic. Her audio sounds great. Her website is a PHENOMENAL example of someone who has a business AND a podcast and doesn't bury the podcast while keeping the business front and center. Some Things That Could Use Some Tweaking Kim is a voice actor, so her diction is perfect. Towards the end of the show, we conclude that when she slows down the speed of her talking it makes it appear that her diction and delivery is a bit stiff. Her demo is amazing and filled with energy. We want more of that. While Kim's website does a great job of promoting her business, she barely mentions her services in the podcast. She does ask people to visit her website but could boost this effort by explaining why. We provide a few examples of how to tie her business into her podcast. Conclusion As a journey podcast, Kim's podcast has already resulted in her getting some voice work. With 100 episodes under her belt, she is doing a lot of things correctly. He website is a great website where everything appears planned, and her brand just oozes professionalism. We wish her all the best. Check out her show at  In This Episode Get Your Show Reviewed at Dave at Find Erik at us a Coffee at
Book Marketing Mentors
Feb 14 2021
Book Marketing Mentors
Book Marketing Mentors:  Jam-packed with smart, easy and simple ideas, this weekly podcast features experts who share proven techniques to add power and zest to supercharge your book marketing plan. Hosted by Susan Friedmann, CSP, international bestselling author, and founder of Aviva Publishing, this new and exciting podcast aims to rev up your marketing efforts with fewer struggles, and more success. Start listening today and discover how to get noticed in a crowded marketplace. Want Your Show Reviewed? Go to www.podcastreviewshow.com/reviewme What We Liked About the Show Dave enjoyed the Emotion Wheel and felt it was something he would look deeper into that topic when the show was over. Your voice over guy did a nice single call to action. Solid interview style. Very comfortable. The questions set him up to give a ton of useful info. I like the big “subscribe” button on the home page. The intro tells us exactly who the show is for and what it is about. I like the category section - easy to binge listen What We Thought Could Be Improved I would prefer you tell me why YOU are excited to have this person on instead of reading his bio. The show doesn't mention authors, and it would help to tie any strategies back to authors. Dave felt you repeating what the guest just said was not helpful. Remove Google Play from you website and add Google Podcasts and Spotify. (maybe make a subscribe page with directions) While there is an "About" for the podcast, We need a paragraph to answer, “Why should I listen to Susan?” The call to action would come across better if it came from you. The WordPress theme you are on is from a company that went out of business. Check out Second Line Themes. The answers were very technical. Get the guest to tell some stories. Engage. Examples. Lots of “schedule appointment” buttons. You ask “Need help with book marketing?” Is that the real pain? or is it “get noticed” “sell more books” “become a best seller”? “Contact” is just “schedule an appointment” again. Maybe e-mail or phone. Check Out Book Marketing Mentors Website:
PAYPOD​ THE PAYMENTS AND FINTECH PODCAST
Dec 12 2020
PAYPOD​ THE PAYMENTS AND FINTECH PODCAST
Today we look at Paypod the payments and fintech podcast. Here is their description from Apple podcasts: Welcome to PayPod, a show that explores the fast-changing world of payments and fintech. The show features interviews with leaders and entrepreneurs in the payments and fintech industries. Each episode, you’ll hear an interview directly with a leader of the payments industry. We talk with fintech entrepreneurs, security experts, mobile developers, eCommerce pros, and more... From credit card processing to bitcoin... from retail point of sale systems to cutting edge digital payments software… merchant accounts. mobile checkout, lending marketplaces, and beyond… we cover it all! What We Liked About the Show Once the interview started Scott seemed very relaxed and enjoyed having a conversation with his guest. While there was some "Bitcoin Rah Rah" it wasn't 100% a pep rally for bitcoin. Great short introduction that gets right to the point It was a good discussion about cryptocurrency itself worldwide. You do a good job balancing the discussion of the app with the discussion of the industry overall. The courage to cover contrarian views was great, and you did a great job of setting up the guest and then getting out of his way as his passion came through. I liked that you attempted to skip the guest's backstory (even though he admittedly went on some tangents). The website was clean and does a great job of having a podcast page without distracting from the business. Things That Might Need Improved You really need to determine who this show is for and talk specifically to that audience. There may be more than one type of listener, but you really need to embrace one. Erik thought a bit more on the benefit of the show for the listener. How am I going to benefit? Leave yourself a little room at the beginning of that before the discussion starts to demonstrate your authority in this space and what you do and how you help people. Not sure what you could do about this, but an Australian only app cuts out a chunk of the world. A walk through of the process of the app, what it does, and why I would use it. A fair amount of jargon. Depending on who the audience is, you might need to explain some of the terms. The guest had mentioned he had authored a book, and you mentioned you would put a link in the show notes (but didn't). You did a great job of having a single call to action, but that one call to action wasn't in alignment with your goals. You had stated you wanted more feedback on the topics that interest the audience. If this is the true goal, you need to specify this as your call to action. Add some more obvious subscribe buttons (instead of links) in the episodes (it is all about the subscribers). FIND THE PAYPOD​ THE PAYMENTS AND FINTECH PODCAST Check out the Paypod podcast at
Tactical Breakdown
Jul 19 2020
Tactical Breakdown
Description Get actionable training and tactics from the best Law Enforcement, Military, and Emergency Response instructors in the world. Join us on our quest to make you, your agency, and your community safer. Our goal is to bring you a platform that gives an in-depth look at the most current training, tactics, and technology used by today's top Law Enforcement, Military, and Security experts. Our Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) bring you their real-world knowledge and experiences and breakdown the incidents, operations, and personal stories that influenced them. We are proud to have partnered with organizations from across Canada to raise awareness of Mental Health and Crisis Response for our First Responders, LEOs, Active & Veteran Military Members, and Security Personnel across the world. We will be bringing on experts to share information and resources that you can use yourself, another person, or your organization. What We Liked Great energy. Great guest Glad that reminded me who the guest is and why he's there. Good job of explaining CCTM might do that more often. Nice job of talking to one person most of the time. Nice job of teasing “coming up on the podcast” (maybe get more specific). Have a good shift – you really know your listener. Nice job of staying out of the guest's way, and letting him state his opinion. Nice job asking the guest to clarify. Nice focused call to action. Great resources and easy contact page. The website is easy to navigate. What Might Need a Little Polish A lot of history of the guest. Do we need all of his backstories? Your volume needs adjusting during the intro. Have a first question that gets into the content instead of a generic history question. Some low hanging ums, but not enough to worry about. No way to share episodes. If you're using an iframe, those are horrible for SEO. White text on a black background can be taxing on the eyes. The occasional use of group speak. Your newsletter needs more of an incentive. Listen to Show Listen on Apple, Spotify, Google. at  Reviewed Want to get your show reviewed? Go to www.podcastreviewshow.com/reviewme   The post Tactical Breakdown appeared first on Podcast Review Show - Get Your Podcast Reviewed.
Leadership Jam Session
May 20 2020
Leadership Jam Session
Description Rob Fonte is the host of the Leadership Jam Session Podcast, where every other week you'll get to hear leaders at all levels of management share their practical solutions to the management challenges you face every day. On this podcast, Rob shares leadership experiences with listeners by bringing in leaders from all different levels to “Jam” on a variety of leadership topics. Some of the best insights are captured from just listening and learning from each other as they share their experiences. More importantly, we learn to see things through the lens of a different perspective and how to move forward with a different approach. With that concept in mind, the Leadership Jam Session podcast was born. Be sure to stay up to date at leadershipjamsession.com. What We Liked About it Great short introductions and you got right to the contentThe intro identifies who the show is for and what to expect.Great stories and insights from your guestsGreat transitions from speaker to speaker and getting everyone involvedI liked the occasional summary of what your guests said.You had a great space for guests to be vulnerable and share insights. What Might Need Some Polish Do a quick recap of the question when getting others involved.“almost out of time” is a holdover from the radio.Always talk to one person and avoid group speakWork more of who you are and why people should listen.Maybe work the guest's name in more so we know who is talking.Direct people to the website for calls to action.Add a Google Podcasts to the website and update Captivate to show subscribe buttonsPosition yourself as the expert and do a summary of “what did we learn” to inject YOU into the content.Determine who your true target audience member is and design the content with them in mind. Check out The Leadership Jam Session www.leadershipjamsession.comAvailable on Apple and Google along with wherever fine podcasts are available Get Your Show Reviewed Go to www.podcastreviewshow.com/reviewme The post Leadership Jam Session appeared first on Podcast Review Show - Get Your Podcast Reviewed.
Bullying, Life, and Stuff
Mar 24 2020
Bullying, Life, and Stuff
Description Rhonda Orr is the president and founder of Rhonda's STOP BULLYING Foundation. On this podcast, she expands on the newspaper advice columns she writes with Dr. Cheri L. McDonald, “Dear Rhonda & Dr. Cheri..” Rhonda speaks directly to you, with real-world, actionable adviceFind the show at  We Liked About The Show The audio quality was great and Rhonda has an authentic passion for this topic and it comes through.The opening got right to the pointNice clip to open the show that really hit homeThe website has a nice clean look and easy to navigate.Good job of boosting the theater of the mindGood call to action at the end of the show What Needed Some Tweaking Some confusions with wording coming from a column to a podcast “She/Her”The intro was a bit long and you might want to focus in who is the show for, and what the goal of the show is for. Then right an intro to really pull in the listeners and use the parts of your background that fit the goal of the show (credentials that don't fit aren't needed).Dr. Cheri got a lot of attention for someone who is not on the show, and is barely on the website. Also do we care that she is from West Lake Villiage?If the goal is to get more speaking gigs, add some pictures of you in that setting to the website. You might also consider mentioning it to the audience. Example: “I was speaking to some high school kids….”The 12 seconds of music at the end could be faded out at the end.This opening really isn't focused on anyone. “from business management to fear”, but we are talking about bullying. Who are we really trying to reach? Additional Comments As Rhonda is transitioning to a new podcast and website, when the podcast isn't tied to the structure of the column this will free you up to speak more from the heart, and loosen up a bit (not that you were stiff). We look forward to hearing Bully Buster when it becomes available. More Information Find the show at  Podcasts Google Podcasts
Readily Random Podcast
Feb 3 2020
Readily Random Podcast
Description Random is a podcast hosted by Larry Roberts featuring a RANDOM selection of interesting and insightful interviews with Motivators, Entrepreneurs, Survivors, Athletes, Podcasters, Bloggers and More! The goal is to READILY remind each listener through stories of success, recovery, and inspiration that you too can be larger than life!Find the show at www.readilyrandom.com What We Liked Great energy out of the gateGreat audioGreat passionA clean website with great graphicsGreat job covering when uncontrollable circumstances arriveFun music. What Needs to be Tweaked The show needs an intro that describes what it's about and who it's for. Then describe what is on the episode in a way that makes people want to keep listening.There is quite a lot of “group talk” such as “Hey everybody.” Talk to ONE person to boost the intimate feel of podcasting.Be sure to mention whatever people are there to plug upfront and set the stage so people know where we are headed.While many podcasters don't share enough, at one point the interview flipped and she was interviewing you as we had taken a fairly long tangent. We LOVE your personality. Share that on your “10 minutes with” episodes, and make interviews where the guest shines.Add a call to action even if it is “tell a friend” and let people know where they can find more information about you and your guest.You can share about yourself in regards as to why YOU are excited about (reason) the guest is on today. This shows you did some homework while allowing people to get a glimpse into you.Be careful getting too random. Make sure there is a common theme amongst your guests. Find Us Find Dave at www.schoolofpodcasting.comFind Erik at www.podcasttalentcoach.comFind Larry at www.readilyrandom.com The post Readily Random Podcast appeared first on Podcast Review Show - Get Your Podcast Reviewed.
Beyond Westworld
Jan 20 2020
Beyond Westworld
Beyond Westworld Introduction DESCRIPTION Award-winning podcast duo Aaron Peterson & Troy Heinritz live without limits as they bring you into analysis mode on the very first podcast for HBO's Westworld. You may question the nature of your reality as the “hosts” dig deep into each character's journey through the maze to find the door. Break the code with a sectioned off part of the park for theories and deep dives into not just the show, but all the website, Instagram, and other ancillary items they can find. What are your drives? If you answered Westworld, then subscribe today! WEBSITE www.beyondwestworldpodcast.com WHAT WE LIKED Troy and Aaron put in a lot of work into each episode via research.Their audio quality is good and their intro gets right to the content quicklyTheir show notes included some GIF mini-movies that really grabbed your attention along with a quick history of WestworldThere were passionate discussions of topics that were DEEP into the topics of die-hard fans.There is good chemistry between the hosts. WHAT NEEDS TWEAKED? Some of the tangents went a bit long and really stopped the momentum of the show (or were just inside jokes that the audience didn't get).Some of the information that is delivered in each weekly seemed rushed and at times, hard to understand.There were many calls to action at the end.You could use each other's names a bit more to help the audience keep track.Without doing a “and now its time to” type of segment remind the audience of the purposes of each segment (beyond “going deeper”).Your banding is a little clunky. This will be remedied when you switch to a new website but there is mention of Golden Spiral, as well as your website, which then has a header at the top with a different name. GET YOUR SHOW REVIEWED If you would like your show reviewed, go to www.podcastreviewshow.com/reviewme and get some honest, constructive feedback to help you make a better show. The post Beyond Westworld appeared first on Podcast Review Show - Get Your Podcast Reviewed.
The A&P Professor
Nov 11 2019
The A&P Professor
Description Explore human anatomy and physiology (A&P) teaching and learning with host Kevin Patton. An experienced professor, textbook author, and mentor, Kevin is a recognized leader in A&P teaching. The A&P Professor builds on the practical approach taken in Kevin's popular blogs, newsletters, and websites. Want some ideas to supercharge your A&P course? How about some support from a fellow A&P professor? This is the podcast for you! What We Liked Nice intro – I know where we are going, and you’re right into the contentDid a great job of talking to one person – no “Group Speak”Lots of great tips for fellow teachersNice job referring back to episode 50Nice transitions and the ads were short, relevant, and to the point.Solid bio on the site Things That Need Polished Gave good qualifications at the end. Move it up to the front of the show.It's against Amazon's policy to say shopping through your link will help you (go figure…)A few too many calls to action at the end.The website lacked an overall style. The two players may cause confusion.We would like to hear who the show is for at the beginning. The A&P Professor Details Website:  Podcasts Google Podcasts Spotify Are You Looking For an Honest Podcast Review? Sign up today and get scheduled to come on with Erik and Dave and find out what you're doing right, and what needs polished (while getting exposure for your show). Subscribe to the Podcast Review Show The post The A&P Professor appeared first on Podcast Review Show - Get Your Podcast Reviewed.