PODCAST EPISODE

Trevor Godinho

What Makes You Click with Kelvin Bulluck

May 28 2021 • 1 hr 38 mins


On this episode of What Makes You Click, Kelvin welcomes Trevor Godinho, an artist and photographer born in the Middle East and raised in Toronto, Canada. Listen in as he sheds light on how he pursued his artistic dreams, traveled the world, and networked his way to success and recognition. He offers wise words of advice on strategically following your passion and transitioning to being a full-time creator, as well as managing your finances and your business as a growing photographer.

You’ll gain insight into how Trevor’s childhood neighborhood and the environment he grew up in inspired his artwork, why he’s drawn to incorporate dark elements into his art, and what it was like to be raised and supported by immigrant parents. He highlights why creative expression is a powerful way to embrace mental health, as well as his candid thoughts on fear, being a minimalist photographer, and dealing with loneliness and depression as a creative.

About the Guest:

With a career spanning more than a decade, Trevor Godinho is an internationally recognized artist and published photographer, his work gracing the pages of Vogue Italia, Elle Canada, Men’s Health Australia, Sports Illustrated, Forbes, Playboy France & USA, FHM France & India, and much more; putting him and his camera in front of notable personalities and Hollywood’s leading men and women.

Connect with Trevor Godinho:

Visit his website: www.trevorgodinho.com

Connect with What Makes You Click:

Visit our website: www.whatmakesyouclick.com

Follow us on Instagram: www.instagram.com/whatmakesyouclickpodcast

Connect with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/whatmakesyouclick

People + Resources Mentioned:

Caravaggio: www.caravaggio.org

Patrick Demarchelier: www.artnet.com/artists/patrick-demarchelier

Marco Glaviano: http://www.marcoglaviano.com/

Mario Testino: www.mariotestino.com

Peter Lindbergh: http://peterlindbergh.obys.agency

Maxim Magazine: www.maxim.com

Richard Avedon: www.avedonfoundation.org

Elinchrom: https://www.elinchrom.com/

Sweat the Technique by Rakim: www.goodreads.com/book/show/42800500-sweat-the-technique

Raw by Lamont U-God Hawkins: www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/36341538-raw

Platon: www.platonphoto.com

The Third Door by Alex Banayan: www.thirddoorbook.com

A Swim in a Pond in the Rain by George Saunders: www.georgesaundersbooks.com/books/a-swim-in-a-pond-in-the-rain-hc

Model Mayhem: www.modelmayhem.com

Herb Ritts: www.herbritts.com

Albert Watson: www.albertwatson.net

Robert Mapplethorpe: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Mapplethorpe

0:00