PODCAST EPISODE

Manny Roman

What Makes You Click with Kelvin Bulluck

Mar 12 2021 • 56 mins


On this episode of What Makes You Click, Kelvin welcomes self-taught, New York-based portrait photographer, Manny Roman. Manny is a storyteller of women and he’s here to talk about the power in knowing your worth and nurturing your network of relationships in the photography industry, as well as the immense joy that women bring to his work.

“I always remind everyone I speak with that our origin is of a woman and we need to always remember to celebrate them in every which way or form. My way is through the lens.” - Manny Roman

Manny describes how he became fascinated with the essence of women and beauty at a very young age and how he broke into the photography industry through a modeling agency. He shares insight into what it’s like to break into the London fashion photography scene, how his time in London helped him understand his worth, and how he handles resistance in his career while respectfully maintaining professional boundaries.

Manny speaks wise words on the role Peter Lindbergh had in inspiring his success as a photographer, the ways in which Manny celebrates and shows reverence to women, and how he produces more than just a pretty image.

Tune in to learn how he started building relationships with the models of America’s Next Top Model, ways the photography industry can manipulate you, and Manny’s perspective on agency representation as a former agent himself.

About the Guest:

Manny Roman is a portrait photographer based in New York. His work has appeared in Vanity Fair, L'Officiel, Cosmopolitan, Harper's Bazaar, and Numéro.

Connect with Manny Roman:

Visit his website: https://bymannyroman.pixieset.com

Follow him on Instagram: www.instagram.com/bymannyroman

Connect with What Makes You Click:

Visit our website: www.whatmakesyouclick.com

Follow us on Instagram: www.instagram.com/whatmakesyouclickpodcast

Connect with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/whatmakesyouclick

People + Resources Mentioned:

Michele Pommier: www.michelepommier.com

Peter Lindbergh: www.peterlindbergh.foundation

Bruce Weber: www.bruceweber.com

Antoine Verglas: www.antoineverglas.com

Riccardo Tinelli: www.instagram.com/riccardotinelliofficial

Aldo Fallai: www.instagram.com/aldofallai

Helmut Newton: www.helmut-newton-foundation.org/en/helmut-newton

Herb Ritts: www.herbritts.com

Chris von Wangenheim: www.instagram.com/cvwangenheimofficial

Grazia: www.graziamagazine.com/us

Premier Model Management: www.premiermodelmanagement.com

Annie Leibovitz: www.instagram.com/annieleibovitz

Pirelli Calendar: https://pirellicalendar.pirelli.com/en/home

Dani Evans: www.instagram.com/p/B5qtNKxFuj-/

0:00