PODCAST EPISODE

Douglas Sonders

What Makes You Click with Kelvin Bulluck

Feb 5 2021 • 49 mins


On this episode of What Makes You Click, Kelvin welcomes Douglas Sonders, an LA-based commercial photographer, filmmaker and producer, among other creative pursuits. Douglas shares his unique experience growing up with an entrepreneurial father, hustling his way into the photography industry as a college student, and the many people who have inspired his relationship with photography throughout his career.

Douglas shares how photography gave his shy, young self the confidence to go against his parents’ wishes for him to attend business school. He speaks on his photography side hustle he developed as a teenager, while noting why he decided to get a degree in advertising photography at RIT. He shares his candid thoughts on the benefits of going to photography school, touching on the most inspiring class he ever took, and whether you need to go to school to become a successful photographer.

Douglas talks about the challenges of becoming and staying an artist while exploring new areas of life, along with what has helped him stick with creating art and playing with innovation. He emphasizes the importance of self-sufficiency, daring partnerships, never stopping working towards your dreams, and never living life with regret.

Tune in to learn what’s next on Douglas Sonders’ ‘to achieve’ list!

Connect with Douglas Sonders:
Visit his website: www.sondersphotography.com
Follow him on Instagram: www.instagram.com/douglassonders
The reel of Douglas’s work that Kelvin references: https://www.sondersphotography.com/Behind-The-Scenes/Montage-About-My-Work/1

Connect with What Makes You Click:
Visit our website: www.whatmakesyouclick.com
Follow us on Instagram: www.instagram.com/whatmakesyouclickpodcast
Connect with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/whatmakesyouclick

People + Resources Mentioned:
Annie Leibovitz: www.artnet.com/artists/annie-leibovitz
Mark Seliger: www.markseliger.com
Denis Defibaugh: www.denisdefibaughphotography.com
Chad Griffith: www.chadgriffith.com
Michael Turek: www.michaelturek.com
Steve Giralt: www.instagram.com/stevegiralt
Luke Pearsall: www.lukepearsall.com
Platon: www.platonphoto.com
Abstract: The Art of Design: www.netflix.com/title/80057883
Elliot O’Donovan: www.elliottodonovan.com
David Goggins: www.davidgoggins.com
Elon Musk’s biography: www.amazon.com/Elon-Musk-SpaceX-Fantastic-Future/dp/006230125X
A Promised Land by Barack Obama: https://obamabook.com/
Shoe Dog by Phil Knight: www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shoe-dog-phil-knight/1123427012

0:00