Julian Day: Infamous broadcaster speaks from abroad

The Offcast: Conversations with musical mavericks

May 16 2022 • 44 mins

UK-based Australian composer, artist, and writer/broadcaster Julian day talks about reconsidering classical music traditions, interactive music and his studies overseas.

Julian Day treats sound as a powerful socio-political agent. Since 2007 they have co-facilitated Super Critical Mass, a radically inclusive orchestra project in which temporary communities of untrained participants develop sonic actions in civic spaces, drawing on aspects of emergence and game theory.

Julian Day: https://www.julianday.com/
__________

– Discussed in this episode –
ABC Classic FM: https://www.abc.net.au/classic/
Music Australia: https://musicaustralia.org.au/
Marco Fusinato: http://marcofusinato.com/
La Biennale di Venezia (Venice Bienale): https://www.labiennale.org/en
Elegy: https://ensembleoffspring.com/event/o4a-elegy/
Louis Andriessen: https://www.boosey.com/composer/Louis+Andriessen
Super Critical Mass: https://www.supercriticalmass.com/
Damian Barbeler: https://www.australianmusiccentre.com.au/artist/barbeler-damian
Music After the Fall: Modern Composition and Culture Since 1989 – Tim Rutherford-Johnson: https://johnsonsrambler.wordpress.com/music-after-the-fall/
David Lang: https://davidlangmusic.com/
Sticky Notes: https://ensembleoffspring.com/event/sticky-notes/2022-03-15/
Ciaran Frame: http://www.ciaranframe.com/
Game On: https://ensembleoffspring.com/event/game-on-backstage/
Institute of Modern Art, Brisbane: https://ima.org.au/
La Monte Young: https://www.melafoundation.org/lmy.htm
Phillip Glass: https://philipglass.com/
__________

Opening music: Heaven Only Empty (2014) – Damien Ricketson
Closing music: Light for the First Time (2017) – Bree van Reyk

The Offcast is hosted by Claire Edwardes OAM, and produced and edited by Ben Robinson.
Ensemble Offspring: https://ensembleoffspring.com/