Sound Opinions

Sound Opinions

Take two nationally respected rock critics, the latest music news, personal commentary, and exclusive interviews and performances, add a huge pile of records old and new, and the result is Sound Opinions, where people who love music can come together.

Our Editor's Take

Sound Opinions is a music lover's dream. This podcast is for those who love playing records together and discussing the latest music news. This show spotlights recent music discoveries, hot tracks, and new album releases. It looks at all aspects of the music scene from an all-encompassing music-loving angle. From B-side tracks to artists like Aimee Mann, there's an episode for every music fan. Listeners can start from the beginning and listen to them all. Or they can bounce around to the topics that interest them most.

This show is winning over audiences and music lovers with its diverse topics. Fans can listen to episodes about Kendrick Lamar and Florence + the Machine or the best albums of the '90s. The hosts, music critics Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot, offer a unique and informed take on all things music. They share their opinions and offer knowledgeable takes on tracks, albums, artists and more.

Listeners can stay up-to-date on emerging artists and enjoy the opinions of these experts. Audiences may not always agree with the hosts, and that's part of the fun. The clear, comprehensive reviews are a wonderful addition to high-quality music content. This show is an excellent resource for music fans. Sound Opinions is a helpful podcast for listeners wanting music news and commentary.

read less
Buried Treasures!
2d ago
Buried Treasures!
As often as possible, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot love to share new, exciting, under-the-radar music. This week, they’ve got a brand new batch of buried treasures. They’ll also hear some selections from the production staff and play messages from listeners. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Cari Cari, "Last Days On Earth," Welcome To Kookoo Island, perla nera, 2022Say She She, "Pink Roses," Prism, Karma Chief, 2022Ibibio Sound Machine, "Protection From Evil," Electricity, Merge, 2022Timothy Bailey & the Humans, "Great Man Singing," Timothy Bailey & the Humans, N/A, 2022Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022Lev UFO, "Again!," Again! (Single), LevUFOrever Galactic, 2022Brittany Davis, "I Choose to Live," I Choose to Live (EP), Loosegroove, 2022Shannon & The Clams, "Year Of The Spider," Year Of The Spider, Easy Eye, 2021Lifeguard, "I know I know," I know I know (Single), Born Yesterday, 2022Polyphia, "Playing God," Playing God (Single), Rise, 2022CMAT, "I Wanna Be a Cowboy, Baby!," If My Wife New I'd Be Dead, AWAL, 2022Jake Blount, "Didn't It Rain," The New Faith, Smithsonian Folkways, 2022Korean Boyfriend, "Millions of Reasons," Yellow, Flowers, 2022Big Joanie, "In My Arms," Back Home, Kill Rock Stars, 2022Oneida, "Beat Me to the Punch," Success, Joyful Noise, 2022Pale Blue Eyes, "Star Vehicle," Souvenirs, Full Time Hobby, 2022Idles, "Danny Nedelko," Joy as an Act of Resistance, Partisan, 2018Jimmie Anderson, "Hero," Hero (Single), Jimmie Anderson, 2018MUNA, "Silk Chiffon (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)," Muna, Saddest Factory and Dead Oceans, 2022Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Kurt Vile, "Like Exploding Stones," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022
Women in Country Music, Opinions on Santigold & Sudan Archives
Sep 23 2022
Women in Country Music, Opinions on Santigold & Sudan Archives
Author Marissa Moss's new book "Her Country" details the challenges the country music industry puts before female artists. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Moss about three artists who've succeeded in spite of the obstacles. Plus, they review new albums from Santigold and Sudan Archives and hear feedback from listeners. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Kacey Musgraves, "Merry Go 'Round," Same Trailer Different Park, Mercury Nashville, 2013Santigold, "High Priestess," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "Fall First," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "No Paradise," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Santigold, "Shake," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Sudan Archives, "Selfish Soul," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "Ciara," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "OMG Britt," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "ChevyS10," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Sudan Archives, "NBPQ (Topless)," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022Mickey Guyton, "Black Like Me," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021Maren Morris, "My Church," HERO, Columbia Nashville, 2016The Highwomen, "Loose Change," The Highwomen, Elektra, 2019Mickey Guyton, "What Are You Gonna Tell Her?," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021Kacey Musgraves, "Good Ol' Boys Club," Pageant Material , Mercury Nashville, 2015Boogie Down Productions, "Jack of Spades," Ghetto Music: The Blueprint of Hip Hop, Jive/RCA, 1989Sinéad Lohan, "Diving to be Deeper," No Mermaid, Interscope, 1998Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022
Common's Like Water for Chocolate
Sep 16 2022
Common's Like Water for Chocolate
Over 20 years later, Common’s album Like Water for Chocolate remains a socially conscious, hip hop masterpiece. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit an interview they did with Common during this time, plus they talk about the music, production history and lasting impact. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Common, "The Light," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Take It EZ," Can I Borrow a Dollar?, Relativity, 1992Common, "I Used to Love H.E.R.," Resurrection, Relativity, 1994D'Angelo, "Brown Sugar," Brown Sugar, Virgin, 1995Common, "Funky for You," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "A Song for Assata," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Payback Is a Grandmother," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "The 6th Sense," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Thelonius," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "Geto Heaven, Pt. 2 (Remix T.S.O.I.) [feat. Macy Gray]," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Common, "A Film Called (Pimp)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000Kanye West, "We Don't Care," The College Dropout, Roc-A-Fella, 2004Kendrick Lamar, "Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)," To Pimp a Butterfly, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2015Kacey Musgraves, "justified," Star-Crossed, MCA Nashville, 2021
Pedro the Lion Live, Opinions on Horsegirl & Julia Jacklin
Sep 9 2022
Pedro the Lion Live, Opinions on Horsegirl & Julia Jacklin
This week hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome Pedro The Lion to the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago for a live performance and interview. David Bazan recently brought back the Pedro The Lion band name for a five album cycle about each of the places he lived while growing up. The second installment, Havasu, came out earlier this year. Plus Jim and Greg review new albums from Horsegirl and Julia Jacklin. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Horsegirl, "Billy," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Live and Ski," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Anti-glory," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Horsegirl, "Homage to Birdnoculars," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Ignore Tenderness," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "I Was Neon," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Too In Love To Die," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "End of Friendship," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Be Careful With Yourself," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Foregone Conclusions," Achilles Heel, Jade Tree, 2004Pedro the Lion, "Don't Wanna Move (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Magazine," Control, Jade Tree, 2002Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Teenage Sequencer," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Pedro the Lion, "Making the Most of It (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000
Phoebe Bridgers Live & Songs About the Sea
Sep 2 2022
Phoebe Bridgers Live & Songs About the Sea
This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share some of their favorite songs about oceans, lakes and rivers. Plus, we revisit a conversation and live performance at the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago with singer-songwriter Phoebe Bridgers. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Neil Young, "I'm the Ocean," Mirror Ball, Reprise, 1995Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Enya, "Orinoco Flow," Watermark, Warner Music, 1988Led Zeppelin, "The Ocean," Houses of the Holy, Atlantic, 1973Frank Ocean, "Moon River," Moon River (Single), Boys Don't Cry, 2018Nova Mob, "Admiral of the Sea," The Last Days of Pompeii, Rough Trade, 1991The Beach Boys, "Sail On, Sailor," Holland, Reprise, 1973The Velvet Underground, "Ocean," VU, Verve, 1985Procol Harum, "A Salty Dog," A Salty Dog, Regal Zonophone, A&M, 1969Otis Redding, "(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay," The Dock of the Bay, Volt, 1968PJ Harvey, "Down By The Water," To Bring You My Love, Direct Brands, 1995Talking Heads, "Take Me to the River," More Songs About Buildings and Food, Sire, 1978Phoebe Bridgers, "Motion Sickness," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Scott Street (Live on Sound Opinions)," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Funeral," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Chelsea," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Steamroller," Killer, Pax Am, 2015Phoebe Bridgers, "Demi Moore," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Killer," Killer, Pax Am, 2015Phoebe Bridgers, "You Missed My Heart," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals (Live on Sound Opinions)," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022
Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club Drummer Chris Frantz
Aug 26 2022
Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club Drummer Chris Frantz
This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their conversation with Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club drummer Chris Frantz. They discuss his memoir, the dynamics of the Talking Heads and working with Brian Eno (ding!) The hosts also share some of their favorite Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club tracks. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Talking Heads, "Once In a Lifetime," Remain in Light, Sire, 1980Talking Heads, "New Feeling," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977Talking Heads, "Pyscho Killer," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977Talking Heads, "Pulled Up," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977James Brown, "I'll Go Crazy," Live at the Apollo, King, 1963Talking Heads, "Don't Worry About the Government," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977Tom Tom Club, "Genius of Love," Tom Tom Club, Sire, 1981Talking Heads, "And She Was," Little Creatures, Sire, 1985Talking Heads, "Take Me to the River," More Songs About Buildings and Food, Sire, 1978Al Green, "Take Me to the River," Al Green Explores Your Mind, Hi, 1974Talking Heads, "Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)," Remain in Light, Sire, 1980Talking Heads, "The Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)," Speaking in Tongues, Sire, 1983Talking Heads, "I Zimbra," Fear of Music, Sire, 1979Tom Tom Club, "You Sexy Thing," Dark Sneak Love Action, Sire, 1991Talking Heads, "Slippery People (Live)," Stop Making Sense , Sire, 1984Talking Heads, "The Lady Don't Mind," Little Creatures, Sire, 1985Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017
Songs About Heroes, Opinions on Beyoncé & Drive-By Truckers
Aug 19 2022
Songs About Heroes, Opinions on Beyoncé & Drive-By Truckers
There have been many great songs about acts of heroism big and small, and in times like these, boy do we need heroes and heroines! Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share their favorite songs about heroes. They’ll also hear selections from the production team and review the new albums by Beyoncé and Drive-By Truckers. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Bonnie Tyler, "Holding Out for a Hero," Footloose: Original Soundtrack of the Paramount Motion Picture, Columbia, 1984Beyoncé, "BREAK MY SOUL," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022Beyoncé, "COZY," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022Beyoncé, "ALIEN SUPERSTAR," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022Beyoncé, "THIQUE," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022Drive-By Truckers, "The Driver," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022Drive-By Truckers, "Welcome 2 Club XIII," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022Drive-By Truckers, "Every Single Storied Flameout," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022Drive-By Truckers, "Wilder Days," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022Aimee Mann, "Save Me," Magnolia: Music from the Motion Picture, Reprise, 1999John Lennon, "Working Class Hero," John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band, Apple, 1970The Impressions, "We're a Winner," We're a Winner, ABC, 1968The Kinks, "Celluloid Heroes," Everybody's in Show-Biz, RCA Victor, 1972The Flaming Lips, "Waitin' for a Superman," The Soft Bulletin, Warner Bros., 1999The Stranglers, "No More Heroes," No More Heroes, United Artists, 1977ONE OK ROCK, "Save Yourself," Save Yourself (Single), Fueled By Ramen, 2022Family of the Year, "Hero," Loma Vista, Nettwerk, 2012Elton John, "I'm Still Standing," Too Low For Zero, Geffen, 1983Billy Bragg, "There Is Power in a Union," Talking With The Taxman About Poetry, Elektra, 1986Rhianna, "Umbrella (feat. Jay-Z)," Good Girl Gone Bad, Def Jam, 2007Natalie Merchant, "Ophelia," Ophelia, Elektra, 1998David Bowie, ""Heroes"," "Heroes", RCA, 1977Nas, "Hero (feat. Keri Hilson)," Untitled, Def Jam, 2008Talking Heads, "Once In A Lifetime," Remain In Light, Sire, 1980
Revisiting The Stooges' Fun House
Aug 12 2022
Revisiting The Stooges' Fun House
In a Classic Album Dissection, Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot examine The Stooges' Fun House record from 1970. The album brought together garage rock, rhythm and blues and free jazz, setting a template for the punk revolution to come. Stooges guitarist Ron Asheton talks about the album as well as producer Don Gallucci, whose unorthodox studio technique is credited with capturing the singular sound of The Stooges. Plus Greg Kot adds a song by Gene Clark to the Desert Island Jukebox. Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:The Stooges, "T.V. Eye," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "Down On The Street," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "Loose," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "Dirt," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "1970," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "Fun House," Fun House, Elektra, 1970The Stooges, "L.A. Blues," Fun House, Elektra, 1970Iggy Pop, "Dum Dum Boys," The Idiot, RCA, 1977The Stooges, "I Wanna Be Your Dog," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969The Stooges, "Not Right," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969MC5, "Rocket Reducer N.62 (Rama Lama Fa Fa Fa)," Kick Out The James, Elektra, 1969The Stooges, "No Fun," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969The Stooges, "Loose (Demo Version)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005The Stooges, "Slide (Slidin' The Blues)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005Bread, "It Don't Matter to Me," Bread, Elektra, 1969The Kingsmen, "Louie Louie," The Kingsmen In Person, Wand, 1963The Stooges, "T.V. Eye (Takes 7 & 8)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005The Stooges, "1970 (Take 3)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005Iggy and The Stooges, "Louie Louie (Live)," Metallic K.O., Jungle, 1976James Brown & The Famous Flames, "I Feel All Right (Live 1967)," Live at the Apollo, Vol. II, Polydor, 1968John Coltrane, "A Love Supreme Pt 2 Resolution," A Love Supreme, Impulse!, 1965The Doors, "Touch Me," The Soft Parade, Elektra, 1969The Stooges, "1969," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969Sonic Youth, "Kool Thing," Goo, DGC, 1990Minutemen, "Maybe Partying Will Help," Double Nickels On The Dime, SST, 1984Mission of Burma, "The Ballad of Johnny Burma," Vs., Ace of Hearts, 1982Depeche Mode, "Dirt," Exciter, Mute, 2001The Damned, "I Feel Alright," Damned Damned Damned, Stiff, 1977Radio Birdman, "T.V. Eye," Radios Appear, Trafalgar, 1977Nirvana, "Scentless Apprentice," In Utero, DGC, 1993Mudhoney, "Touch Me I'm Sick," Touch Me I'm Sick (Single), Sub Pop, 1988The Stooges, "Down On The Street (Single Mix)," Down On The Street (Single), Elektra, 1970Gene Clark, "Some Misunderstanding," No Other, Asylum, 1974David Bowie, "Heroes," "Heroes", RCA, 1977
Maybe the Best Buried Treasures Ever? Plus Listener Feedback
Jul 29 2022
Maybe the Best Buried Treasures Ever? Plus Listener Feedback
Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share new music that isn't getting the attention it deserves- they call them "buried treasures." The show's staff joins in sharing their picks as well. Plus they listen to recent feedback from listeners.Join our Facebook Group: a member on Patreon: up for our newsletter: a donation via PayPal: us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Dehd, "Bad Love," Blue Skies, Fat Possum, 2022Oliana, "Jupiter," Jupiter (Single), Oli x Tooti, 2022Body Type, "Buoyancy," Everything Is Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising, Poison City, 2022Taqbir, "Aisha Qandisha," Taqbir EP, self-released, 2021Momma, "Medicine," Household Name, Polyvinyl, 2022Mayyadda, "BlackGirlMagic (Acoustic Remix)," BlackGirlMagic (Acoustic Remix) (Single), Mayyadda, 2022O.N.E. The Duo, "Stuck In The Middle," Stuck In The Middle (Single), Visionary, 2022Say Sue Me, "To Dream," The Last Thing Left, Damnably, 2022Hater, "Renew, Reject," Sincere, Fire, 2022Ethel Cain, "Crush," Inbred, Daughters of Cain, 2021Holland Patent Public Library, "Joe Pera Sits With You," Joe Pera Talks With You: Season 3 (Original Soundtrack), Adult Swim, 2022The Who, "Baba O'Riley," Who's Next, Polydor, 1971The Venomous Pinks, "No Rules," Vita Mors, SBÄM, 2022Dummy, "Mono Retriever," Mono Retriever (Single), Sub Pop, 2022Crumb, "Balloon," Ice Melt, Crumb, 2021Chime School, "It's True," Chime School, Slumberland, 2021Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, "What If We All Stopped Paying Taxes," Soul Time!, Daptone, 2011Trombone Shorty, "I'm Standing Here (feat. Gary Clark Jr.)," Lifted, Blue Note, 2022Tummyache, "Alive Again," Teeth - Single, Tone Tree Music / You + Me, 2022The Beatles, "A Hard Day's Night," A Hard Day's Night, Parlophone, 1964