Deep Cover: The Nameless Man

Pushkin Industries

Deep Cover is a show about people who lead double lives. Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jake Halpern reveals webs of deception and dark underworlds, through interviews with federal agents and convicted criminals.

Season four, The Nameless Man, tells the epic tale of two federal agents who investigate a rumor about a murder that supposedly took place 15 years prior.  It is also the story of a family searching for answers about why their brother was killed. These two storylines collide in a courtroom in Philadelphia, where murder, memory, and morality go on trial.

Season three, Never Seen Again, tells the story of two women living on opposite sides of the country, who went missing in the summer of 1999.  Seven years later, their stories collided when a small town detective got a tip and became convinced that if he could solve one mystery, he'd solve the other.

Season two, Mob Land, is about a high-rolling lawyer who joins forces with the feds to try to bring down one of the most powerful criminal syndicates in the country.

Season one, The Drug Wars, tells the story of an FBI agent who goes undercover with a biker gang, and follows a trail of clues that eventually leads to the US invasion of a foreign country.

Deep Cover drops on Mondays. To hear all of season four early and ad-free, subscribe to Pushkin+ in Apple Podcasts or at

iHeartMedia is the exclusive podcast partner of Pushkin Industries.

read less

Our Editor's Take

Deep Cover: Never Seen Again is a true crime podcast. The series tells exciting real-life stories of corruption and scandal. The host is award-winning journalist, author, and radio host Jake Halpern.

The first story of the podcast begins in the 1980s with Ned, a new member of the FBI. He arrests a fugitive with connections to the underworld. This simple action leads him to live a double life undercover for many years. What starts with growing a moustache to fit in with a biker gang ends with an invasion of a country and the arrest of a brutal dictator. The Deep Cover: Never Seen Again host found this story so intriguing as it doesn't seem real. Passionate about finding the truth, Jake must use detective tactics of his own. The penultimate episode reveals the country set for invasion. The show also discloses the dictator, the silent partner in the smuggling operation.

The Deep Cover: Never Seen Again podcast doesn't stop there for listeners looking for more true crime stories. Other episodes discuss Bob Cooley. He was a lawyer in the 1980s who had to fix a case to ensure a mobster went free. He continued settling cases this way until he decided to switch sides and work for the feds instead. Why would he choose to put his life at risk as a government informer? It's this question that Jake strives to answer.

Later episodes share one of the impacts of Bob's undercover work. It starts with the murder trial of Ronnie Carrasquillo in 1978. This high-profile case featured judge Frank Wilson. Frank is the same judge who Bob once bribed. Ronnie argues that his sentence was unfair and he should fight for justice over 45 years later. This story reveals even more about the corruption within the justice system.

The Deep Cover: Never Seen Again podcast is a fascinating program. Listeners may enjoy learning about those at the center of each story. It may also make them question who the real victims are.

read less
True CrimeTrue Crime

Season 4

Season 3